Rebellion at its Finest

8808782.tHere’s a movie on what fashion obsession and the quest for fame and fortune does to a bunch of American teenagers.

To be honest, I watched this movie specifically for this GIF:

giphyI mean, seriously. How can I not? What have you done to Hermione Granger, you poser! Spit her out! No, I am kidding. But really, Emma Watson club dancing is just sexay.

Alright, so. Bling Ring is based on a number of heists done by a group of teenagers possessing a fast Internet connection and the rudimentary principles of time management. Fueled by cigarettes, fashion addiction, and lots of drugs and guts, the Bling Ring conducts rather amateurish burglary in the homes of various Hollywood celebrities like Orlando Bloom, Lindsay Lohan, and Paris Hilton. Of course, how can you not rob Paris Hilton. It’s pretty basic, actually. They simply follow the celebrity’s schedule, Google their address, and BAM! New Alexander McQueen stuff.

film-bling-ringFor starters, I am amazed that they can tell who designed what just by looking. But that is just me being fashion ignorant. The fashion aspect of this film is 80% lost on me. But I stuck through for the simple fact of how these teenagers were portrayed. Going so far as to rob celebrity houses to get the attention they’ve always wanted? Well, you guys are famous now, albeit for all the wrong reasons. And seriously, their method of thievery is so simple, it’s stupid. How it took so long for them to get caught, I honestly do not know.

Anyway, the film depicts this 90210/Hollywood culture which consists mainly of weed, coke, and clubbing. And taking selfies in said clubs every five minutes. Yes, I do understand that these are necessary steps to get noticed–you have to be in the right place, at the right time, doing the right things with the right people while wearing the right outfit. This, from what I get, is Hollywood normalcy.

130417BlingRing_7492035Bling Ring (2013) Katie Chang and Israel BroussardWhich makes this ‘culture’ quite incomprehensible to me. And very superficial. I mean, it may not apply to every AmeriTeen, but the portrayal of these teenagers gives a rather bad image of American adolescents. As my sister put it, “Grabe, ganyan ba talaga mga teenager sa America?” In  a lot of movies, they are portrayed as being rebellious almost to the point of having no morals and without considering the possible consequences. I will do what I want, so you can go screw yourself.

For a film that’s based on a true story, I think it’s pretty cool. Although I cannot vouch for the accuracy of the events in the movie, I think it would’ve done well even if it wasn’t based on true events. The premise itself is already quite engaging. It’s short, sweet, angsty, even. I like it.

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

Leave a Reply

