L Connections

Since OITNB took a big chunk of me when it ended, I figured I needed another show to give me some semblance of wholeness. I didn’t want to re-watch Lip Service as that is equally depressing so I decided to take on the show which I’ve always shied away from: The L Word.

the_l_word_logoThis show has made its presence felt ever since I was in college. The DVDs would always spring up to my face every time I go DVD hunting but I never bought them. I wanted to but I didn’t. And I didn’t know why. Maybe because I’d get grilled if they were found lying around the house.

The L Word is what Maria-sama ga Mitteiru is for the anime world–it is THE lesbian show. All those who call themselves lesbian-show junkies should’ve watche The L Word at some point in their lives lest they be shamed if they did not. So I did. Took quite a while to download all 6 seasons but I pulled through.

So far, I’ve finished the first season and, well, ALL MY GODDAMN FEELS! *ahem* Excuse me. All my god***n feels.

Unlike OITNB which has socio-political dynamics stamped all over it, TLW focuses more on the lives of a group of lesbian friends, their relationships, and the complications within those relationships. As such, the show tends to invest more on its viewer’s emotions. At least that is how it worked out for me.

If you think about it, the premise of the whole show is Alice' theory on how everyone is screwing each other.
If you think about it, the premise of the whole show is Alice’ theory on how everyone is screwing each other.

TLW, though, focuses more on the upper to middle class lesbians with a bit of the lower-middle, working class ones in the mix. In short, it’s not exactly a representative population. It does, however, provide a representative sample when it comes to gender types. For instance, I was graced by the existence of the lesbian identified male. But that is for another post.

Anyway, there was just so much going on in the show but I don’t want to spoil the fun. It was a real ride and unfortunately (or fortunately. I don’t even know any more), I feel emptier now.

Onwards to season 2!

 

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

Leave a Reply

