friggin colors.

For the most part, I don’t like reading or watching mainstream stuff. I prefer scouring the waters of obscurity and finding gems among them. However, this was a hype I couldn’t afford to pass.

I’m talking about Orange Is the New Black.

I finished the show last December and realized what the hype was all about. Straight off from the pages of ex-convict Piper Kerman’s memoir, OITNB features the prison life Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) and the (mis)adventures she had to live through to survive prison. A lot of critics praised the show for being one of the few mainstream offerings that portrayed multiple races while being gender sensitive at the same time.

Orange-is-the-New-Black-Loogo

And indeed it was. There were Hispanics, African-Americans, white people. There were junkies, prisoners bordering on insanity, those who felt they were messengers of God. And of course, (honestly the main reason why I watched it) OITNB featured a mix of lesbian and straight women.

The girls of OITNB.

The show was really short but it was so packed with stories–it’s practically multiple narratives within a big one. I felt frustrated and empty the moment I saw the last episode creds roll, mainly for the following reasons:

1. I was so emotionally-invested with the characters it hurt that I wouldn’t know what happens to them. Each character and their stories were so short yet so powerful that the impact lasts.

2. OITNB’s portrayal of prison life was like a world on its own. No, scratch that. It is a world on its own. It’s a completely different universe and leaving that world makes me homesick.

3. I waited so long for something to happen between Piper and Alex. When it finally does happen (in episode 9), everything ends (the show is 13 episodes long). I felt like I was dropped like a hot potato.

Alex Vause and Piper Chapman getting cozy with each other.

Plus, OITNB is a primordial soup for analysis–everywhere you look, there is a potential subject. For instance, one can look at the presence of hierarchy within prison. The power play between prisoners. The ego-building environment of the prison for its male guards. Sex as a commodity. The creation of myth within the prison community (yes, chicken. I’m talking about you). The complexities of a guard falling for a prisoner. OR the complexity of knowing that your ex-girlfriend, who ratted you out and is thus, the reason why you’re in prison, is also an inmate. Seriously, there’s a plethora of elements to analyze people should make OITNB a school subject.

Now, excuse me while I find another show to fill in this gaping void in me.

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

Leave a Reply

