the wellspring of wisdom opens

After prolonged hold-ups, I finally, finally, finished Gosick. And well, I was all “skldfhlakhsdflsfhd” at the last episode.

First thing I had to say for Gosick: THIS, Studio Bones, is how you make an anime of the mystery/detective genre. I don’t know if it was because I watched it after a more mediocre Bones creation (*coughUN-GOcough*) which I felt, was a complete waste of time, but Gosick seemed heaven-sent to me. Like it was the best detective anime ever. Of course I exaggerate but you get the point. That being said, I fear this post will be a cross between a review and a ranting post.

With 24 episodes, Gosick does not skimp on the mystery. Unlike the aforementioned show which was only half a season, Gosick takes its merry time to dwell on each case. It doesn’t rush but it doesn’t take too long on each either. Plus, the latter half of the cases just tie up to make one whole narrative. Although one of my friends thought that the mysteries were easy, I thought they had a bit more substance than the ones in UN-GO. Or maybe because the ones in UN-GO were so uncomplicated that the ones in Gosick suddenly seemed otherworldly to me.

 

Anyhow, the tsundere relationship between Kujo and Victorique — just a second. Let me spew something out. It peeves me how they say ‘Victorique’ as ‘Viktorika’. It’s fine at first but when Kujo just screams ‘VIKTORIKAAAAA!’ over and over again at the top of his lungs, I swear it’s annoying. It grates into your eardrums. The scene was supposed to be moving and sweet but I just wanted to flip tables because of Kujo’s consistent ‘VIKTORIKAAAAA!’. His screaming just killed it. Okay, going back. Kujo and Victorique’s love-hate, tsundere relationship is so cute. This girl seems to be so easy to woo though — just give her sweets and you’re all good.

Apart from these two, the show also has a heap of other characters who are as equally interesting as the protagonists. Let’s do a quick rundown of the ones with more exposure time.

Avril. Unfortunate enough to land the role of the ‘other girl’. Hyperactive but doesn’t really match up to Victorique’s intelligence. Too bad.

 

 

Grevil. Victorique’s half-brother. Easily recognizable for his hair which resembles soft ice cream (for the hungry) or a drill (for the industrially-inclined). He doesn’t really like Victorique all that much and he never addresses her directly, but he has some good in him. The usual “I-am-following-my-Father’s-orders” character.

Cordelia & Brian Rosco(e). Cordelia is, obviously, Victorique’s mum. A strong woman despite her height, she’ll fight with her life to protect her daughter. Rosco (or Roscoe, depends on the subs), on the other hand, is Cordelia’s body guard. Enigmatic, silent and cool. ‘Nuff said.

 

Marquis de Blois. Victorique’s father. He is so evil I don’t even want to talk about him. I mean, look at him. You can practically feel the evil oozing out of his pores.

 

 

Cecile-sensei. Seemingly the one and only teacher in Sauville Academy. Clumsy and a bit of an airhead, she’s a kind teacher who goes out of her way to help our two protagonists.

 

 

As for the technicals, there’s nothing I can complain about. Or maybe I just wasn’t paying attention. -keke- The art was smooth — there weren’t any awkward Fate/Stay Night moments. All was smooth and, yes. It was a fun, worth it watch. Plus, silver-haired Victorique at the end was just…*swoon*

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

Leave a Reply

