vacation anime #3: Whisper of the Heart

We’ll be having a movie trip for my third installment; and not just any other movie but a Ghibli movie. So sit back, relax and enjoy the ride – just like I did.

Unlike the usual nature spirit kind of themes that Studio Ghibli is known for, Whispers of the Heart leans more on the slice-of-life genre. However, at the same time, it still possesses the unique feeling that every Ghibli film has. The story focuses on middle school student Shizuku who loves to read and stay in the library, letting her story unfold as she begins looking for the thing that she wants to do and meeting her first love. With a plot as simple as that, it’s really amazing how Ghibli is able to pull out such an amazing story out of it.

Whispers of the Heart may seem boring at first and may actually be an acquired taste but as for me, it was an entertaining watch. I especially liked the antique store’s art work for this one. Everything was so detailed and colorful, especially that wonderful grandfather clock (with its cute story) and the Baron – a small statue of a cat wearing a tailcoat. I also find Shizuku a really funny and realistic character. I say she’s realistic based on experience. LOL.

If you want something light and sweet and fluffy, Whispers of the Heart might be the one for you.

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

8 thoughts on “vacation anime #3: Whisper of the Heart”

  1. I’m one of those extraordinarily rare anime fans that (in general at least) doesn’t enjoy Ghibil films… But this movie sounds different enough from the rest, that I may just give it a try one day. It doesn’t seem nearly as strange as standard Ghibli fare, at any rate.

    1. I’d have to agree with that. You ARE a rare specie. XD It’s the first time I’ve met a soul who doesn’t enjoy Ghibli. Ah, well, yes. It’s not the spiritual kind of thing, if that doesn’t roll with you. ^^

    1. Oh~ First of all, thanks for leavin’ me a line. Much appreceiated. keke. ^^
      Have you watched the other Ghibli films? You might find one that will debunk Whispers of the Heart on your number one spot. (^‿^)✌

      1. I’ve only seen… Nausicaa, Castle in the Sky, Ponyo, and Arrietty, so yeah we’ll see… cause I’m still planning to watch the other films. I’m a bit biased to the slice of life genre and love stories though so I don’t know… 😀

    1. Yep! They’re on my to watch list. I remember seeing Howl’s before on AXN I think… (btw… kabayan!) but I can’t remember enough to make sense. I’ve just watched Princess Mononoke, I thought at first the name, since it had princess, was like a Princess Sarah or something… was I wrong. It was really good and one of my favorites now, nudging WoTH a bit, but not enough to take its place.

      1. Omo! A Filipino! *hugs!* lol. Princess Mononoke’s nothing like Princess Sarah. (^‿^)v It’s one of the Ghibli works that really has that Ghibli template stamped all over it. You should re-watch Howl. My sister and I likes it very much — one of our favorites along with Spirited Away. ㅋㅋ

Leave a Reply

