the disappearance of haruhi suzumiya

The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya

At long last, I finally found a copy of The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya at the Otaku Expo 2011 held last Sunday (post on said event to follow until, er, our internet connection returns to its normal self). Watched the whole thing the moment I got back at my dorm room and, I must say, I’m now officially a Yuki x Kyon shipper. Woot, woot!

[This is what’s happening in my head: Yes, I’m such a loser that I only got to watch the movie now (and am still finishing the series) – it’s been what? I don’t even know how many years back since the movie and the anime were released. But, as they say, it’s better late than never. And yeah, I feel less of a loser now. Ha. I do not know why but I have this weird notion that if you’re a self-proclaimed otaku and you haven’t watched Melancholy or Disappearance, you are a failure. It’s like saying that you love books but you haven’t read The Catcher in the Rye and To Kill a Mockingbird (I’ve read both, in case you’re wondering).]

[Now so much for my afterthoughts.]

As the title says, the movie’s about the, uhm, disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya. It was almost Christmas and the Brigade was planning for a Christmas party. Everything would’ve been fine if Kyon didn’t wake up one December morning (I think it was around the 18th), goes to school and sees (oyah!) Asakura (remember her?) walking to the seat behind him. Now you should be thinking ‘what in blazes is that murderous girl doing here?’ and ‘isn’t that Haruhi’s seat?!’. Well, that’s the point. Nobody remembers Haruhi anymore, only Kyon. If that wasn’t enough he proceeds to find the other Brigade members only to discover that Asahina’s never met him before, Yuki’s become the sole member of the Literature Club and Koizumi’s class had been dissolved altogether – as in there was no Class 1-9. Talk about intense psychological attack, huh?

[At this point, I am thinking whether to continue telling more tidbits out of sheer excitement or jump around the room first and then continue typing.]

Okay, I decide not to. Go and grab a copy and see for yourself what happens next. Harass the sales clerk if need be. You absolutely, ABSOLUTELY need to see this movie. It’s psychological. It grabs your head and flings it around. Then it’ll wretch your heart right out of your chest and pour suspense, sympathy, confusion, love, happiness and some more character love right into your very arteries. Plus, it deviates from the norm because despite the title, it actually revolves more on Yuki Nagato, who’s my absolute favorite (seriously, I’m in love with her), and the changes within her. Another plus would be the Yuki – Kyon scene at the end of the movie. Really man, they should just end up together.

 

Don't they just look so cute together? *squee~*

 

This is the 'alternate' Yuki handing Kyon a Literature Club app form.

 

Yuki's so cute! I looove her movie version! :3

Kudos to this movie. I love it. Sick stuff, I dare say. You know how Melancholy goes, ne? You’ll definitely love this movie if you loved the show as well. The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya, banzai!

And finally, LOL at this ‘meme’.

LOL.

 

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

Leave a Reply

