How do you feel about public speaking?

Because the consistent rain has turned some of my screws all loose and rusty, I will follow the suggestions that WordPress gives me. Cue drum roll, please. Thank you. And the topic that I get is that: How do you feel about public speaking. Oh, wow. How apt. Now to answer the question.

Ever since I was a kid, I have always been shy and scared of strangers. Every time my mother introduces me to her friends, I would hide behind her back, eyes trained on the ground. I seldom played outside but I did have friends around the neighborhood. I was clumsy, so I’d always stick around with someone whenever we played.

Ironically, though, when I started school, they would always enter me in contests or make me do speeches. I don’t know how I managed to plow through that but I did. (Tons of picture at home as proof.) I was always chosen as class representative for poetry recitation and even participated in choral recitation competitions during elementary. In short, the shy person that was me was continually thrown to the gaping jaws of public speaking.

But that’s all over now. Now that I’m in college, there are no more poetry recitation or choral recitation competitions to join. And so, I reverted back to my old self. I would never take Comm 3 and I can never make speeches. I can never do a proper report since it requires me to talk in front of many people. It would’ve been fine if I am not forced to talk loudly. I can speak decent English if need be. I can do fine whenever I talk to myself. But for me, modulating my voice is a totally different task in itself. It’s like my brain has to do two tasks at the same time: delivering the report and modulating my voice. Add that to the fact that I don’t do well in public and you’ll get the situation that I’m in.

Bottom line is, public speaking is not my thing. How do I feel about it? I do not hate it but I’d rather not have myself in such a situation. I know for a fact that I was not made to speak in front of dozens of people. It’s quite pathetic, I know. But that’s how things are. Besides, nowadays, what I am being equipped with a mere pen. And paper is my sole audience.

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

4 thoughts on “How do you feel about public speaking?”

  1. Haha. I’ll only speak in front of people if I cannot avoid. Usually, if there’s a group report and that only one of us has to present, I’ll be the first to back out.

    1. Haha. True. For me, if it’s a group report with plenty of members, I’ll volunteer to hold the visual aids or something. If it’s just a small group — like to or three members — I’d volunteer to be last. XD

  2. I am so cool with public speaking – it’s my thang. I’m the top of my class when it comes to making speeches and pretty good in debating. My career will always be in public speaking – I want to be a lawyer.

    1. Cool, good for you then. 😀 I guess reading a lot of X-Men gave you a strong sense of justice? Haha. As for me, yeah. If it’s unavoidable, I don’t really speak out front. OTL

Leave a Reply

