welcome to a collector’s heaven.

The What: The 10th Philippine Toys, Hobbies and Collectibles Convention 2011 or simply put, ToyCon.

The Where and When: SM Megamall Megatrade Halls 1, 2 and 3 last June 19.

The Who: Me and a bunch of other guys. Really, they were all just guys and one girl apart from me. But it was fine since we all had fun and it didn’t really matter anymore since we kept on getting separated. Ha! Talk about having our own worlds.

First of all, I am proud that I managed the trip to Megamall unaccompanied. Well, I had Lightning give me directions but still, I went there alone. By my lonesome. And I successfully got there alive, unscathed and on time. AND I went there by train. Is this a big deal, you ask. Of course it is. You see, trains hate me. Those spinning mechanisms/spokes simply would not let me pass through. However, through some miracle, those cursed spokes forgot about their hate and let me through. Thank you, spokes. You understood the importance of the situation.

Anyway, ToyCon was an absolute feast. But yes, I just had to be a loser and leave my camera at home. So the only proof I had of attending the convention is this baller I’m wearing now, which of course you cannot see, and this photo I had a friend take for me, which you can find in my Facebook account. I’m sorry I couldn’t put it here. I was supposed to but the Internet’s just too slow.

There were absolutely a gazillion things to look at: from Harry Potter to X-Men, DC to Marvel, Gundam models to Transformer robots — think of anything and it’s there. Comics and manga were on sale at as much as 50% off and some were even at buy-one-take-one. T-shirts and otakugear stalls are everywhere and I was lucky enough that one food stall was selling taiyaki. Ah, my first taiyaki. I’m so happy.

Action figures galore, of course. Sizes ranged from miniature to life-sized ones. Psylocke’s PVC model was absolutely gorgeous. There were also models for Spawn, Electra and a million Wolverines (everybody loves Wolverine). Gundam kits were selling like hotcakes and the Hyakka Ryouran, Ah My Goddess and Hell Girl figures on display were simply marvelous.

There were plenty of cosplayers as well. Naruto, Bleach, One Piece, Hitman Reborn characters were the favorites. It’s amazing to see a number of Uzumaki Narutos at the same time — shadow clones, probably. Oh, yes. Alodia was there. She was shooting her movie, Cosplay Nation, which I had no idea about until I saw it there.

All in all, it was absolute fun. It would’ve been more of an experience if I had my camera and millions of money. But of course, the latter condition would’ve been impossible. Still, being there is an experience in itself so I guess that makes up for it.

Is it quite obvious how stoked I was to have been there? I can’t even write a proper and coherent entry. I’m all dreamy and…ah. I can’t wait for next year’s.

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

Leave a Reply

