turn on the waterworks

Clannad After Story

Yesterday being my only free time, I promised to finish Clannad After Story. And so that’s what I did. When I got back to the dorm at around past two, I turned on Ben (my notebook) and went straight to YouTube. Now I’m here to report: all those hours I spent and all the pain in the butt I experienced after prolonged hours sitting on a wooden bench were definitely worth it! Every single second of it!

Clannad After Story is the second installment of Clannad. It continues from where the protagonists Okazaki Tomoya and Furukawa Nagisa left off at the first season. It shows how the two of them, along with their other friends — the Fujubayashi twins, Kyou & Ryou, Ichinose Kotomi, Ibuki Fuko, Sunohara Youhei and Sakagami Tomoyo — move along with their lives and make decisions that would ultimately either make or break them. It’s so hard to make this ‘review’ (please note the laser quotes) without throwing in spoilers so I’ll make it short in order not to drop anything in lest I incur the wrath of those who are planning to watch this.

What makes Clannad and After Story such a masterpiece, a real gem, is its depth. Not many animes nowadays portray such depth as this anime had successfully done. The characters are faced with real obstacles and problems and they take paths knowing the risks that come with them. It’s like real life in 2-D.  The character’s situations are filled with emotions. They make you cry. They make you laugh. Some give you both. Do you know how hard it is to hold back your tears because you’re watching at the lobby? I do. This anime taught me. One thing’s for sure, if plan to watch this, make sure you have a box of tissues within reach because there are plenty of episodes that would definitely make you cry. The character’s sadness touches the deepest part of you that you feel real sympathy for them. It’s as if they’re not anime characters — they feel like the real thing. You’d just want to reach inside the monitor and comfort them. I’m definitely sure that if you can, you will.

Unlike Clannad however, After Story has a more solid ending. Appropriate and definitely well worth the wait. You’d surely thank the extra episodes for giving you a breather after all the crying that you’ve done.

I’ll end it here before all those episodes come back at me. If you’re the type of person who has no feel for sad animes, then don’t watch this. But then if you don’t, you’d miss half of your anime life.

Published by

fanaddict22

A shy and quiet person who loves anime, books and Japanese food.

Leave a Reply

